The Walker Art Gallery has announced the artists whose works will be showcased in this year’s John Moores Painting Prize exhibition.

Following more than 2,500 entrees, 54 artists have been selected by a jury of artists that includes Gillian Carnegie, Ansel Krut, Phoebe Unwin and Ding Yi, and the author and freelance curator Rev’d Dr Richard Henry Davey.

Four painters will each be awarded prizes of £2,500, while the overall winner will receive a prize of £25,000. The names of the five shortlisted prize winners will be announced in June 2016, with the first prize winner being revealed on 7 July 2016.

Sandra Penketh, director of art galleries at National Museums Liverpool, said: “A number of the artists represented are of a non-UK origin, bringing a strong international feel to the show. Visitors to the exhibition might also recognise works by some returning artists, including ex-juror and previous prize winner Graham Crowley, and multiple Visitors’ Choice winner, Nicholas Middleton.”

Established in 1957, the prize is organised in partnership with the John Moores Liverpool Exhibition Trust. Past winners include David Hockney (1967), Mary Martin (1969), Peter Doig (1993), and Rose Wylie (2014).

Included in the 2016 exhibition is a painting by the artist Ben Cove, who sadly passed away on 16 March after a short illness. The full list of artists selected is:

Talar Aghbashian, Tristan Barlow, Karl Bielik, Gabriella Boyd, Julian Brown, Nici Bungey, Bernard Charnley, Julie Cockburn, James Collins, Gemma Cossey, Ben Cove, Graham Crowley, William Dick, Sarah Dwyer, Bella Easton, Róisín Fogarty, Michael Ginsborg, Juliet Goodden, Steph Goodger, Christopher Hanlon, Linda Hemmersbach, Thom Trojanowski Hobson, Ira Hoffecker, Benjamin Jamie, Benjamin Jenner, Gareth Kemp, Nicholas Kulkarni, George Lloyd-Jones, Enzo Marra, Lee Marshall, Sneh Mehta, Nicholas Middleton, Nancy Milner, Frank Minoprio, Steve Moberly, Donal Moloney, David Murphy, Ewan Murray, Laurence Owen, Selma Parlour, Mandy Payne, playpaint, Alex Rennie, Tim Renshaw, Lizi Sánchez, Syed Shaan, Michael Simpson, John Stark, Duncan Swann, Emma Talbot, Julia Warr, Richard Kenton Webb, Simon Williams and Mary Wood.

The John Moores Painting Prize 2016 is at Walker Art Gallery, Liverpool, from 9 July to 27 November 2016

1. Graham Crowley, Blue Drift, 2015
2. George Lloyd-Jones, Round Tables 2, 2015

More on

Jury announced for John Moores Painting Prize 2016