Kevin Hunt, Tabitha Kyoko Moses, Julieann O’Malley and Laurence Payot have been named as the four artists shortlisted for the Liverpool Art Prize 2013, now in its sixth year.

The prestigious competition for artists born or based in the Liverpool City Region was established during Liverpool City of Culture 2008 by Ian and Minako Jackson, founders of It is now managed by Metal Edge Hill Station where the exhibition of shortlisted artists is held.

In total, 52 entries were received by this year’s panel of judges comprising Sally Tallant (Director of Liverpool Biennial), Tim Etchells (multi-disciplinary artist), Laura Davis (Arts Editor, Liverpool Daily Post) and Robyn Woolston (Artist and winner of Liverpool Art Prize 2012).

The overall winner of the Liverpool Art Prize will be awarded £2000 in prize money as well as a solo show at The Walker Art Gallery at some point during the ensuing 12 month period. The People’s Choice Award winner, determined by a public vote from visitors to the exhibition, will collect £1000.

For more information visit

The Liverpool Art Prize at Metal Edge Hill Station previews Thursday 25 April, continues Friday 26 April – Saturday 8 June.