Jayne Knight (Chair) is an experienced arts manager with a reputation for developing effective, collaborative projects that deliver long term change. Major projects include Making Art Work, Amplifier, the Suffolk Creative Learning Collaborative and the development of the New Anglia LEP Cultural Board. She started her career at the Greater London Council and has worked for Four Corners Films, Circles Film distribution and Lincolnshire County Council. She is currently the Arts Development Manager for Suffolk County Council and a Trustee of CLOA.

Sonia Boué has a multiform practice focusing on themes of exile and displacement. She recently collaborated with Tate Britain and made a programme about her work with BBC Radio 4.  She runs an online forum for ‘object artists’ called Museum for Object Research and a peer network for neuro-divergent artists called WEBworks. She provides consultancy services to art organisations and university research programmes. Visit Sonia’s website

Andy Brumwell is a Management Accountant with 30 years of experience in Finance, HR, Communications and Real Estate gained in Banking and then in Finance and Arts Management with both charities and non-charities since 2010. He is Executive Director at SPILL Festival and undertakes several other freelance and non-executive roles, mainly in the Arts.

Hannah Cross started her professional career in the arts, working in the London Visual Arts Team at Arts Council England before becoming a private giving fundraiser at various art galleries in London. Eventually her interest in technology led her to change direction and retrain as a web developer. Currently she works for a growing start up called NearSt as a software engineer.

Amrita Dhallu is a curator and researcher based across Liverpool and London. She provides support structures for emerging British artists through commissioning and creating peer-led networks. Her current research radically positions care, healing and wellbeing within arts education and exhibition-making in order for artists to re-think ways of professional development. She currently holds the post of Assistant Curator, International Art at Tate Modern, London.

Thomas Goddard is a visual artist from Cardiff, Wales. He works at the cross-section of creative practice and education, with recent work exploring the effect of digital technology on our lived experience. Having led the Learning programme at the Glynn Vivian Art Gallery, Tom currently programmes Criw Celf, a visual arts access scheme for young people aged 10-18, and works in partnership with charities such as Barnardos and Voices from Care. Woven throughout his practice is the belief in creative expression as a fundamental right for all. Visit Thomas’s website


Skinder Hundal MBE, is currently Director of Arts at British Council, a global operation supporting close to 60,000 artists and engaging over 100 Million audiences per annum. Hundal is passionate about stimulating cultural relations and transforming lives through creativity by unlocking the unseen questions and answers that really matter in uncertain and complex times. Prior to this role, he was CEO and Arts Director at New Art Exchange positioning it as one of UK’s key cultural assets based in an international neighbourhood in Nottingham operating world-wide.

Zarah Hussain is an artist who works at the intersection between science and spirituality, combining contemporary digital art with a rigorous training in traditional Islamic geometry drawn by hand. Her work encompasses a range of forms, from looping infinite animations made with code, to sculpture, painting and interactive apps. Her work uses mathematics that celebrate the order and structure found in the universe to create a range of work based on infinite repeating patterns. Visit Zarah’s website

Jerome Ince-Mitchell (Chair of a-n Artists Council) graduated in 2019 from the MA Painting programme at the Royal College of Art. He is interested in new ways that artists can work with their communities to facilitate a sustainable sense of agency. Working with painting, installation, curation and performance, his work is rooted in his experiences of living in working class London. Visit Jerome’s website

Helen Nisbet is a curator from Shetland, now based in London. She is Artistic Director for Art Night and curates projects across the UK. Helen also sits on the Acquisitions Committee for the Arts Council Collection and the Advisory Board for Artquest. Her publication ‘It Disappears in Blue and Red and Gold’ was published by Bookworks in 2018.

Keith Piper (Acting Vice Chair) is an artist and academic based in London.  His practice dates back to the early 1980s, when as a student he was a founder member of the Blk Art Group, contributing to the development of the ‘British Black Art Movement’. His creative practice spans a range of media from painting to digital interactivity, alongside teaching and curatorial practice. Visit Keith’s website

Anjalika Sagar lives and works in London and is one half of The Otolith Group, founded in 2002 with Kodwo Eshun. The Otolith Group’s research-based work spans moving image, audio, performance, installation, archive and publication. The Group has curated of a wide range of seminal contemporary art exhibitions and programmes that have brought the work of key artists and film makers to attention. In 2010 The Otolith Group was nominated for the Turner Prize.

Reema Selhi is a legal and policy expert working in the field of copyright at DACS, the UK’s flagship copyright society for visual artists. She lobbies on behalf of artists to champion their contribution to the UK’s creative industries and to seek preservation of their rights. Reema was instrumental in launching DACS’ campaign, Fair Share for Artists and she regularly speaks on sustainable policies for artists in the UK and in international forums such as the World Intellectual Property Office. Alongside her role on the a-n Board, Reema is Vice Chair at the Alliance for Intellectual Property.

Hannah Wallis is an artist and curator based in the Midlands. Concerned with how visual and performative knowledge production can inform and be informed by collectivisation, collaboration and long-term research cycles, Hannah has worked under the moniker of Dyad Creative since 2014 and is currently working as curator-in-residence at Wysing Art Centre alongside her role as Assistant Curator at Nottingham Contemporary. Committed to embedding accessibility practices within the arts and supporting the working rights of artists and art-workers, Hannah has worked with National Gallery, London, Aural Diversity, DASH Arts and East Street Arts among others. Visit Hannah’s website

1. Jayne Knight. Photo: Joel Chester Fildes
2. Sonia Boué. Photo: Joel Chester Fildes
3. Hannah Cross. Photo: Joel Chester Fildes
4. Amrita Dhallu. Photo: Joel Chester Fildes
5. Skinder Hundal. Photo: Joel Chester Fildes
6. Jerome Ince-Mitchell. Photo: Joel Chester Fildes
7. Helen Nisbet. Photo: Joel Chester Fildes
8. Simon Pallett. Photo: Joel Chester Fildes
9. Keith Piper. Photo: Joel Chester Fildes