Huddersfield Railway Station
Thursday, July 18, 2019
12:00 AM
St Georges Square, Huddersfield
Dwell Time

Dwell Time Exhibition Opening & Issue 2 Open Call Launch

Thursday 18th July, 6:30-9pm

Huddersfield Railway Station

Exhibition Opening: 6:30pm Main Concourse Waiting Room

Issue 2 Open Call Launch: 7:30pm in The Hub

Dwell Time present a waiting room exhibition of Issue 1 art work and Bob Clayden’s pinhole camera portraits which he took during the Issue 1 launch on Penistone Line Platform 2 of Huddersfield Railway Station.

Dwell Time will also launch the open call for Issue 2 in The Hub of Huddersfield Railway Station. Join Dwell Time artists, curators and partners for a relaxed evening of poetry readings, screenings and discussion. This event is free and bookable via eventbrite

Issue 2 Open Call:

This exhibition and event are made possible with a YVAN microgrant and a Penistone Line Partnership microgrant.

Dwell Time is an arts publication reflecting on mental wellbeing produced in collaboration with Penistone Line Partnership.

Dwell time: The time a train spends at a scheduled stop without moving. Typically, this time is spent boarding or alighting passengers, but it may also be spent waiting for traffic ahead to clear, or idling time in order to get back on schedule.

For Dwell Time Issue 1 Launch, Bob Clayden and Rose Knight used a custom made pinhole camera in a suitcase to photograph sitters on Platform 2 of Huddersfield Railway Station. This is long exposure photography, using traditional processing of silver based materials in a darkroom and only a pinhole as a lens. This photography is slow, and as far away from the modern day selfie as possible. To be in the picture you have to stay still for around 10 minutes, anyone moving just disappears into a blur.

Dwell Time Issue 1 featured artists: Amber Agha, Anna-Maria Amato, Teri Anderson, Mr Anon, Amelia Baron, Ben Barton, Chloe Belcher, Sue Bevan, Simon Bolton, Alice Bradshaw, Elise Broadway, Spencer Brown, Emma Burleigh, Robert P. Clarke, Bob Clayden, Donna Coleman, Klara Cservenka, Paula de Sousa, Lita Doolan, Eddy Dreadnought, Oliver East, Roderick Huw Evans, Donald Falconer, Ben Gaffrey, Sue Gardiner, Vanessa Haley, Laura Harris, Andy Hollinghurst, Hannah Honeywill, Brian Horton, Janice Howard, Janina Karpinska, Saima Kaur, Brian Kielt, Mel Kirkham & Yasmin Baddley, Mary Lee-Slade, Alison Little, Nicolette Loizou, Christopher Marsh, Nick Maynard, Patti Mckenna-Jones, Gill Melling, Nazanin Moradi, Cynthia Morrison, Diane Murphy, Ben NCM, Debbie Nicholson Wood, Henry Noyes, John O’Hare, Susan Plover, Laura Potts, Greg Przybyszewski, Andrew Pullan, Bobbi Rae, Tania Robertson, Damian Robin, Katya Robin, Robert Roth, Amy Rowe, Robert P Ryan, Rachele Salvini, Rebecca Saunders, Jessica Russo Scherr, Julie Shackleton, Richard Shields, Lucy Simm, Marnie Simpson, Jackie Smith, Michael Szpakowski, Lenny Szrama, The Train Lady, Danny Verno Smith, Victor, Kate Walter, Brain Webster, Dan Weatherer, Emilia Wilson, Jon Wilkins.

Curated by Alice Bradshaw, Vanessa Haley and Lenny Szrama in collaboration with the Penistone Line Partnership.

Dwell Time

Penistone Line Partnership