New Art Exchange
Saturday, July 13, 2019
Sunday, September 8, 2019
39 – 41 Gregory Boulevard, Nottingham NG7 6BE
East Midlands

Friday 12 July 2019, 6pm – 9pm

Friday 23 August 2019, 6pm – 9pm

Enjoy a huge variety of art at NAE this summer, with works in painting, drawing, video, live art, sculpture, installation and mixed media by over 50 artists.

The NAE Open was created through an open application process which received nearly 700 submissions. A panel of judges viewed each to select what they felt to be the most innovative and accomplished works, creating a snapshot of contemporary fine art practice today.

Given NAE’s key priorities in supporting both culturally diverse and local talent, the exhibition was open to all artists living in Nottinghamshire and also to  artists of culturally diverse heritage and those exploring diversity within their
practice living anywhere in the UK.

A key aim of the NAE Open is to create a platform which supports the development of artists and raises their profile. Beyond the public exhibition itself, a number of prizes will be awarded in a special ceremony on Friday 23 August. These include the £1,500 Public Choice Prize, which every visitor to the exhibition can contribute to. Be sure to cast your vote when you visit the galleries – voting closes Thursday 22 August 2019. The NAE Open also creates the opportunity to buy original art with a number of works available for sale.


Ayo Akingbade
Haseebah Ali

Ankita Anand
Farhad Berahman

Adonia Bouchehri
Pamela Breda

Faiza Butt
Gerard Carson

Emily Catherine
Shaista Chishty

Richard Chung
Faye Claridge

Chiara Dellerba
Mariano Doronzo

Billy Dosanjh
Arit Etukudo

Vivian Chinasa Ezugha
Adam Farah / free.yard

Craig Fisher
Katharina Fitz

Tracy Gnoan
Aya Haidar

Umama Hamido
Christopher Hanson

Effy Harle
Sayed Hasan

Faisal Hussain
Seungjo Jeong

Sofia Karim
Jagjit Kaur

Permindar Kaur
Nisa Khan

Wanja Kimani
Fanni Kopacsi

Dinu Li
Lin Li

Renie Masters
Bill Ming

Nick Mobbs
Natasha Monfared

Dipesh Pandya
Irvin Pascal

Hetain Patel
Becca Pyne

Joshua Roland
Benjamin Rostance

Sarah Sayeed
Vanessa Scully

Grzegorz Stefanski
Emily Stollery

Soraya Syed
Ghafar Tajmohammad

Bobby Tiwana
Rebekah Ubuntu

Leah Wareham
Honey Williams


• Main Prize (selected by the judging panel): £3,000
• Public Choice Prize (selected by visitors to the exhibition): £1,500
• The NAE Open Exhibition Prize (selected by NAE): Future exhibition opportunity with NAE
• The Ian Robinson Prize (selected by Ian Robinson): £150
• The John E Wright Prize (selected by Adrian Nicholls): £100 towards print services


• Matthew Chesney – Artist Curator and Founding Director of BACKLIT Gallery & Studio
• Christine Eyene – Artistic Director, 5th Biennale Internationale de Casablanca 2020
• Louise Fedotov-Clements – Artistic Director of QUAD & Director of FORMAT International Photography Festival
• Jagdish Patel – Nottingham based Writer, Photographer & Activist
• Sarah Perks – International Curator, Writer & Producer
• Beverley Sterling – Visual Artist
• Salma Tuqan – Curator of Contemporary Art & Design, and Deputy Director of Delfina