The artists for this year’s Jerwood Makers Open commissions have been announced. Zachary Eastwood-Bloom, Malene Hartmann Rasmussen, Jasleen Kaur, Ian McIntyre and Studio Silo will each receive awards of £7500 to realise their proposals, with the resulting work to be shown in a group exhibition at Jerwood Space, London from 8 July to 30 August 2015 before touring the UK.

Selected via an open call for entries, this is the fifth year of the commissioning opportunity for applied artists. The awards are intended to promote the significance of making and materials within the visual arts, with a focus on ‘exceptional skill and imagination’. The selected artists are free to use the award to develop work without any specific commissioning criteria.

This year’s selection panel consisted of Grant Gibson, editor, Crafts magazine; Isobel Dennis, director of the New Designers graduate design exhibition; and Michael Marriott, product designer and curator.

Commenting on this year’s artists, the panel said: “Whittling down the finalists from this year’s record number of entries was genuinely tough. In the end, the five chosen displayed a high level of technical skill combined with imagination and intellectual adventure. They are all attempting to take their practice in a new direction. 2015’s Jerwood Makers Open promises to be an exhilarating exhibition.”

The 2014 Jerwood Makers Open exhibition is currently showing at Gallery Oldham until 1 March 2015.

More on

Jerwood Makers Open awards £37,500 to designers makers – The 2014 shortlist announced

2013 – How was it for you? – Jerwood Charitable Foundation director Shonagh Manson looks back on 2013, a year of exciting collaborations