The longlist for the biennial John Moores Painting Prize has been announced. From over 2500 entries, the jury have selected 52 artists for the exhibition which opens in July.

The 2014 judges are Tim Marlow, director of artistic programmes at the Royal Academy, and artists Lynette Yiadom-Boakye, Zeng Fanzhi, Chantal Joffe and Tom Benson.

“One of the most wonderful things about this process has been the opportunity to really look at and talk about painting,” said 2013 Turner Prize nominee, Yiadom-Boakye. “It’s been an honour and a pleasure to spend time with the work of so many kindred spirits; people who face the same confidence crises, dilemmas and good times in the studio as I do.”

Sandra Penketh, director of art galleries at National Galleries Liverpool, said: “The judges have selected a show which highlights some of the very best of contemporary painting and gives a strong sense of current trends and themes alive today in the studios and art schools up and down the country.”

John Moores Prize 2014 longlist in full

The full longlist of artists for the 2014 John Moores Painting Prize is:

Phil Ashcroft, Jo Berry, Jane Bustin, James Byrne, Wayne Clough, Paul Collinson, Christopher Cook, David Dawson, Robin Dixon, Fiona Eastwood, Robert Fawcett, Tom Hackney, Susie Hamilton, Rae Hicks, Charlotte Hopkins, Barbara Howey, Julian Hughes-Watts, Thomas Hylander, Andy Jackson, Nicholas Kulkarni, Rachel Levitas, Juliette Losq, Hynek Martinec, Andrew McIntosh, John McSweeney, Nicholas Middleton, Reuben Murray, Tony Noble, Grace O’Connor, David O’Malley, G E Palmer, Mandy Payne, Daniel Pettitt, Frank Pudney, Emma Puntis, Alessandro Raho, Timothy Renshaw, Neal Rock, Conor Rogers, Karen Roulstone, Gideon Rubin, Alli Sharma, Mark Siebert, Mike Silva, Rebecca Sitar, Ian St.John, Lexi Strauss, Trevor Sutton, Covadonga Valdés, Roxy Walsh, Rose Wylie and Carlos Zuniga.

The final shortlist of prize winners will be announced at the opening of the exhibition on 5 July, with the first prize awarded in September.