South East Contemporary Visual Arts Network, along with its partners Aspex in Portsmouth, MK Gallery in Milton Keynes, Modern Art Oxford, and Phoenix Art Space in Brighton, has announced the artists taking part in this year’s Platform Graduate Award.

The award supports emerging graduate artistic talent from universities across the south east region to further their practice following graduation. This year’s selected artists will feature in an exhibition at one of the four partner venues.

Aspex, Portsmouth (22 October – 23 December 2021)

Lucy House, and Lily Tutty (Arts University Bournemouth); Sophie Bazgier, and Laura Buckle (University of Chichester); Julia de Costa, and Abigail Jones (UCA Farnham); Conor Hallan Clements, and Daniel Webb (University of Portsmouth); Gabrielle Plommer, and Chealsie Wild (Solent University, Southampton); Jenny Andrews, and Anna Marris (Winchester School of Art, Southampton University)

MK Gallery, Milton Keynes (8-31 October 2021)

Him Ming Chan (University of Northampton), Jennifer Watts (University of Hertfordshire), and Shannon Ryan (University of Bedfordshire).

Modern Art Oxford (23 September – 31 October 2021)

Fetine Sel Tuzel (University of Reading); Bevan Hill and Will Griffiths (Oxford Brookes University); Beth Simcock (Ruskin School of Art, University of Oxford).

Phoenix Art Space, Brighton (9 October – 7 November 2021)

Nina Fisher, Anja Blau, and Ainoa Burgos Gonzalez (Brighton University); Katherine Jane Weston Smith, and Harriet McMorrow-Purcell (East Sussex College); and Ross Partleton (MET).

Speaking about the award, CVAN South East’s Manager Oliver Sumner said:

“This award provides a much needed springboard for artists graduating from our local universities. It could not happen without the enduring engagement of our higher education partners, and of course this year’s four host venues in the CVAN South East network. My thanks go to them all, and most of all to the artists themselves who have amazed us despite the pandemic disruption of their final year.”

The venues will select a shortlist of finalists, with the winner selected by a panel of judges and announced at a ceremony later in the year. The winner will receive a £2,000 bursary, as well as 12 months of mentoring support from a practicing artist.

Top left: Ross Partleton, Famous City, Regent Cinema, Railway Club (Phoenix Art Space); top right: Abigail Jones, Moongazing (Aspex); bottom left: Fetine Sel Tuzel, places and faces (Modern Art Oxford); bottom right: Jennifer Watts (MK Gallery).

More on a-n

Sculpture made from draped, white fabric
Jennifer Watts, Skin.

Platform Graduate Award 2021 selected artist Jennifer Watts (University of Hertfordshire) is among the graduating artists included in the a-n Degree Shows Guide 2021. Read more about Jennifer’s work in the lead up to her degree show here