Details of the artists taking part in the 2016 Liverpool Biennial have been revealed. Taking place across the city in both indoor and outdoor sites, the 37 international artists will exhibit specially commissioned work in galleries, museums, pubs, unused spaces, stations, hotels, parking lots, shops and supermarkets.

Artists exhibiting include: Mark Leckey, Marvin Gaye Chetwynd, Lucy Beech, Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Mariana Castillo Deball, Oliver Laric, and Arseny Zhilyaev.

Curating the 2016 biennial are: Sally Tallant, Dominic Willsdon, Francesco Manacorda, Raimundas Malasauskas, Joasia Krysa, Rosie Cooper, Polly Brannan and Francesca Bertolotti-Bailey.

Sally Tallant, director of Liverpool Biennial, said: “We are looking forward to working with artists from Asia, India, North and South America, the Middle East, Russia and Europe in the city.

“It is exciting to bring these artists together with the people of Liverpool to make this a place where art and artists can thrive and to create a focus for international contemporary art.”

In addition, children will work together with artists and the biennial team to develop a series of new exhibitions, projects and publications specifically for young audiences.

Also showing during Liverpool Biennial 2016 are the John Moores Painting Prize at the Walker Art Gallery and the Bloomberg New Contemporaries at Bluecoat. There will also be a Biennial fringe.

List of artists

The full list of confirmed artists for the 2016 Liverpool Biennial is:

Lawrence Abu Hamdan (Jordan / UK / Lebanon), Alisa Baremboym (USA), Lucy Beech (UK), Mariana Castillo Deball (Mexico), Yin-Ju Chen (Taiwan), Ian Cheng (USA), Marvin Gaye Chetwynd (Australia/UK), Céline Condorelli (Italy / Switzerland / UK), Audrey Cottin (France), Koenraad Dedobbeleer (Belgium), Jason Dodge (USA), Lara Favaretto (Italy), Danielle Freakley (Australia), Fabien Giraud & Raphaël Siboni (France), Ana Jotta (Portugal), Samson Kambalu (Malawi), Oliver Laric (Austria), Mark Leckey (UK), Adam Linder (Australia), Jumana Manna (Palestine), Rita McBride (USA), Dennis McNulty (Ireland), Elena Narbutaite (Lithuania), Lu Pingyuan (China), Michael Portnoy(USA), Sahej Rahal (India), Hesam Rahmanian, Ramin and Rokni Haerizadeh (Iran), Koki Tanaka (Japan), Villa Design Group (UK/USA), Krzysztof Wodiczko (Poland), Betty Woodman (USA), Arseny Zhilyaev (Russia).

Liverpool Biennial runs 9 July – 16 October 2016.

More on

Glow in the dark art: new skate park sheds light on Everton – Laura Robertson reports on this Liverpool Biennial permanent commission

Jury announced for John Moores Painting Prize 2016

Liverpool Biennial director: “I want to make it part of people’s everyday lives” – Sally Tallant interviewed on the eve of the 2014 edition